Essays by the 20th sōke of the Hōzōinryū

12 essays on spear/Hōzōinryū written by Kagita Chūbee (1957 - 2011), 20th sōke (headmaster) of the Hōzōinryū.

First published in the Nara town magazine Ubusuna, 2009.

Essays by the 20th sōke of the Hōzōinryū

Written by Kagita Chūbee, 20th sōke (headmaster) of the Hōzōinryū

Happy new year.

I feel honoured to have the opportunity to write on the sōjutsu of the Hōzōinryū and would be glad if you would follow me through the 12 episodes that will be published here in the course of this year.

Continue reading ...

Written by Kagita Chūbee, 20th sōke (headmaster) of the Hōzōinryū

Yari and Hoko

This time I would like to write about the types of spears called yari and hoko.

Continue reading ...

Written by Kagita Chūbee, 20th sōke of the Hōzōinryū

Types of Spears

This time I would like to introduce the various types of spears.

Continue reading ...

Written by Kagita Chūbee, 20th sōke of the Hōzōinryū

The Kōfukuji during the Middle Ages

The Middle Ages in Japan cover the time from the second half of the Heian period1 through the Kamakura period2 and the Nanbokuchō period3 up to the Muromachi period4 and the Sengoku period5 and are characterized by the transition of power from a hereditary monarchie to the warrior class. At the same time the old feudal system which centered around the imperial central government declined due to the rise of true local rulers like the military provincial administrators6 or land stewards7.

Continue reading ...

Written by Kagita Chūbee, 20th sōke of the Hōzōinryū

Hōzōin Kakuzenbō Hōin Inei

Inei, the founder of the Hōzōinryū Sōjutsus, was born in the first year of Daiei (1521) as the second son of Nakamikado Tajima Inei who was a warrior monk of the Kōfukuji1. The Nakamikados were descendants of Prince Toneri2, who had been the fourth son of Emperor Tenmu3, and originally went by the family name Sakaguchi. Their ancestor Sakaguchi Musashi Nobutane had been a very strong and brave man. He loved the martial arts and was feared by everbody as the wild Musashi. In the battle of Kasagi castle in the first year of Genkō (1331), which took place during the Genkō4 war in which he fought on the emperor's side, he distingished himself and was rewarded with a sword and the family name Nakamikado by Emperor Go-Daigo5.

Continue reading ...

Written by Kagita Chūbee, 20th sōke of the Hōzōinryū

Yagyū and Hōzōin

The region called Yagyū1 was located 36 km away from Kyōto and more than 10 km away from Nara. In the East it bordered upon the province of Iga which made it very easy to obtain information about the powerful clans in all of Japan2. Due to its abundance of water the region was very fertile. Furthermore Yagyū together with Nara and Iga was an area that produced a lot of martial artists, amongst others the Yagyū clan with the sword, Hōzōin Inei and Takada Matabee with the spear, Bōan3 with naginata and spear, Heki Danjō Masatsugu4 with bow and arrow or the members of the ninja school Igaryū.

Continue reading ...

Von Kagita Chūbee, 20. Sōke der Hōzōinryū

Musashi and the Hōzōinryū

The Hōzōinryū was the largest Sōjutsu school during the Edo period, but that its name ist still known nowadays presumably is due to Yoshikawa Eiji's1 novel "Musashi"2.

Continue reading ...

Written by Kagita Chūbee, 20th sōke of the Hōzōinryū

The Genealogy of Hōzōinryū Sōjutsu

As I already wrote in the May issue Hōzōinryū Sōjutsu was founded by Inei and subsequently developed into Japan's biggest Sōjutsu school. One reason for this was of course the outstanding quality of the techniques of handling a sickle-spear which Inei had worked up. The other reason was the fact that a lot of excellent disciples gathered in the Hōzōinryū who systematized and developed Inei's techniques further and further from generation to generation until the school had spread all over Japan.

Continue reading ...

Written by Kagita Chūbee, 20th sōke of the Hōzōinryū

The Return of the Hōzōinryū Sōjutsu to Nara

There is a mysterious relationship between the Hōzōinryū Sōjutsu and the family Kagita. In the year Shōwa 33 (1958) my late father Chūzaburō constructed the first toll highway in Japan which lead through the Kōenzan, a mountain in the west of Nara. One feeding road to this highway was built next to the cemetary of the temple Byakugōji. On this occasion my father discovered the tombs of Hōzōin Kakuzenbō Inei an his successors. This was the beginning of the previously mentioned relationship.

Continue reading ...

Written by Kagita Chūbee, 20th sōke of the Hōzōinryū

The Techniques of the Hōzōinryū Sōjutsu

As I already wrote in the March issue one of the characteristics of the Hōzōinryū Sōjutsu is the use of a spear called Kamayari1 which has a blade in the form of a cross which sets it appart from the standard Suyari2. Thanks to its cross-shaped blade the Kamayari can not only be used for thrusting but in a lot of ways. One can beat down an opponent's spear in a cutting movement3 or in a rotating movement4 or slide5 along the shaft of the opponent's spear. The Hōzōinryū became Japan's largest spear style because the effectiveness of these techniques were recognized. In this issue I would like to deal with the techniques in more detail.

Continue reading ...

Written by Kagita Chūbee, 20th sōke of the Hōzōinryū

Kawaji Toshiakira and the Hōzōinryū Sōjutsu

Kawaji Toshiakira (1801 - 1868) was an outstanding character of the late Edo period. He held various important positions in the administration of the shogunate and is especially renowned as the signatory of the Treaty of Shimoda1 and as an advocate of the oppinion that the four southern islands of the Kuril Islands were Japanese territory.

Continue reading ...

Written by Kagita Chūbee, 20th sōke of the Hōzōinryū

Historical traces of the Hōzōinryū

As I already wrote in the previous issue, the Hōzōin was still in existence at the end of the Edo period1 and sōjutsu was still taught there then. But during the anti Buddhist movement at the beginnig of the Meiji period2 its buildings were torn down and its land was expropriated. At that time regrettably its dōjō was lost as well as the archives of its writings. Thus there are only very few historic monuments related to the Hōzōinryū that are left today, which I would like to introduce below.

Continue reading ...

Texte vom 20. Sōke der Hōzōinryū

12 Artikel zum Thema Speer/Hōzōinryū von Kagita Chūbee (1957 - 2011), dem 20. Sōke (Oberhaupt) der Hōzōinryū

Zuerst erschienen im Nara-Stadtmagazin Ubusuna, 2009.

Texte vom 20. Sōke der Hōzōinryū

Von Kagita Chūbee, 20. Sōke (Oberhaupt) der Hōzōinryū

Ich wünsche Ihnen allen ein schönes neues Jahr.

Es ist mir eine Freude, an dieser Stelle über das Sōjutsu der Hōzōinryū schreiben zu können, und ich würde mich sehr freuen, wenn Sie mich über die 12 Folgen, die im Laufe dieses Jahres erscheinen werden, begleiten würden.

Weiterlesen ...

Von Kagita Chūbee, 20. Sōke (Oberhaupt) der Hōzōinryū

Yari und Hoko

In dieser Folge möchte ich über die Speertypen Yari und Hoko schreiben.

Weiterlesen ...

Von Kagita Chūbee, 20. Sōke der Hōzōinryū

Speertypen

Diesmal möchte ich die verschiedenen Arten von Speeren vorstellen.

Weiterlesen ...

Von Kagita Chūbê, 20. Sōke der Hōzōinryū

Der Kōfukuji im Mittelalter

Das japanische Mittelalter, das die Zeit von der zweiten Hälfte der Heian-Zeit1 über die Kamakura-Zeit2, die Nanbokuchō-Zeit3 bis hinein in die Muromachi-Zeit4 und die Sengoku-Zeit5 umfasst, ist gekennzeichnet durch den Wechsel von einem dynastischen Monarchie hin zur Herrschaft durch den Kriegerstand. Gleichzeitig war diese Zeit durch den Niedergang des alten Lehenssystems, in dessen Zentrum die kaiserliche Zentralregierung stand, geprägt, der durch das Auftauchen tatsächlicher lokaler Machthaber wie den militärischen Provinzverwaltern6 oder den Grundverwaltern7 vorangetrieben wurde.

Weiterlesen ...

Von Kagita Chūbee, 20. Sōke der Hōzōinryū

Hōzōin Kakuzenbō Hōin Inei

Inei, der Begründer des Hōzōinryū Sōjutsus wurde im ersten Jahr der Ära Daiei (1521) als zweiter Sohn des Nakamikado Tajima Inei geboren, der ein Mönchskrieger des Kōfukujis1 war. Die Nakamikados waren Nachkommen des Prinzen Toneri2, der der vierte Sohn des Kaisers Tenmu3 gewesen war, und trugen ursprünglich den Familiennamen Sakaguchi. Ihr Ahne Sakaguchi Musashi Nobutane war ein sehr kräftiger und kühner Mann gewesen. Er liebte die Kampfkünste und wurde von aller Welt als der wilde Musashi gefürchtet. Im ersten Jahr der Ära Genkō (1331) erwarb er sich während des Genkō-Kriegs4 auf Seiten des Kaisers Go-Daigo5 in der Schlacht um die Burg Kasagi hervorragende Verdienste, für die er vom Kaiser mit einem Schwert und dem Familiennamen Nakamikado belohnt wurde.

Weiterlesen ...

Von Kagita Chūbee, 20. Sōke der Hōzōinryū

Yagyū und Hōzōin

Das Gebiet Yagyū1 lag 36 km von Kyōto und über 10 km von Nara entfernt. Es war eine Region, die im Osten an die Provinz Iga grenzte und in der es daher einfach war, an Informationen über die mächtigen Clans im ganzen Land zu kommen2. Außerdem war die Gegend Dank ihres Wasserreichtums sehr fruchtbar. Zudem gehörte Yagyū zusammen mit Nara und Iga zu einem Gebiet, das zahlreiche Kampfkünstler hervorbrachte, unter anderem den ganzen Yagyū-Clan mit dem Schwert, Hōzōin Inei und Takada Matabee mit dem Speer, Bōan3 mit Naginata und Speer, Heki Danjō Masatsugu4 mit Pfeil und Bogen oder die Angehörigen der Ninja-Schule Igaryū.

Weiterlesen ...

Von Kagita Chūbee, 20. Sōke der Hōzōinryū

Musashi und die Hōzōinryū

Zwar war die Hōzōinryū die Edo-Zeit hindurch die größte Sōjutsu-Schule, doch dass ihr Name auch heute noch bekannt ist, ist wahrscheinlich Yoshikawa Eijis1 Roman "Musashi"2 zu verdanken.

Weiterlesen ...

Von Kagita Chūbee, 20. Sōke der Hōzōinryū

Die Genealogie des Hōzōinryū Sōjutsus

In der Mai-Folge habe ich ja bereits darüber geschrieben, dass das Hōzōinryū Sōjutsu von Inei begründet worden war und sich zur größten Sōjutsu-Schule Japans entwickelte. Das lag natürlich zum einen daran, dass die vom Gründer Inei entwickelten Techniken der Handhabung des Sichelspeers herausragend waren, zum anderen aber auch daran, dass viele hervorragende Schüler in der Hōzōinryū zusammenkamen und die Techniken Ineis von Generation zu Generation immer weiter systematisierten und entwickelten, bis die Schule schließlich über ganz Japan verbreitet war.

Weiterlesen ...

Von Kagita Chūbee, 20. Sōke der Hōzōinryū

Die Rückkehr des Hōzōinryū Sōjutsus nach Nara

Zwischen dem Hōzōinryū Sōjutsu und der Familie Kagita gibt es eine mysteriöse Verbindung. Im Jahre Shōwa 33 (1958) richtete mein verstorbener Vater Chūzaburō die erste gebührenpflichtige Schnellstraße Japans über den Kōenzan, einen Berg im Osten Naras, ein. Als Zubringer wurde neben dem Friedhof des Tempels Byakugōji eine neue Straße angelegt. Dabei entdeckte er neben der Straße die Gräber Hōzōin Kakuzenbō Ineis und seiner Nachfolger. Das war der Beginn dieser Beziehung.

Weiterlesen ...

Von Kagita Chūbee, 20. Sōke der Hōzōinryū

Die Techniken des Hōzōinryū Sōjutsus

Wie ich bereits in der März-Folge geschrieben habe, ist das charakteristische Merkmal des Hōzōinryū Sōjutsus der Einsatz eines Kamayari1 genannten Speers mit kreuzförmiger Klinge, der sich vom üblichen Suyari2 unterscheidet. Dank der kreuzförmigen Klinge kan man mit dem Sichelspeer nicht nur stechen, sondern er lässt sich vielfältig einsetzen, um den Speer eines Gegners unter anderem schneidend herunterzuschlagen3, rotierend herutnerzuschlagen4 oder oder an ihm entlang zu rutschen5. Die Hōzōinryū entwickelte sich zur größten Speer-Schule in Japan, weil die Effektivität dieser Techiken erkannt wurde. In dieser Folge nun möchte ich etwas konkreter über diese Techniken schreiben.

Weiterlesen ...

Von Kagita Chūbee, 20. Sōke der Hōzōinryū

Kawaji Toshiakira und das Hōzōinryū Sōjutsu

Kawaji Toshiakira (1801 - 1868) war eine herausragende Perönlichkeit der späten Edo-Zeit. Er bekleidete verschiedene wichtige Positionen innerhalb der Shōgunats-Regierung und ist unter anderem dafür bekannt, dass er den Vertrag von Shimoda1 unterzeichnete und ausdrücklich die Ansicht vertrat, dass die vier südlichen Kurilen-Inseln japanisches Territorium seien.

Weiterlesen ...

Von Kagita Chūbee, 20. Sōke der Hōzōinryū

Historische Spuren der Hōzōinryū

Wie ich in der letzten Folge bereits geschrieben habe, existierte der Hōzōin am Ende der Edo-Zeit1 noch, und es wurde dort Sōjutsu unterrichtet. Doch im Laufe der anti-buddhistischen Bewegung zu Beginn der Meiji-Zeit2 wurden seine Gebäude abgerissen und sein Grundbesitz enteignet. Dabei ging sein Dōjō ebenso verloren wie das Archiv seiner Schriften, was überaus bedauerlich ist. Daher gibt es heute nur wenige historische Denkmäler, die mit der Hōzōinryū in Beziehung stehen, und diese möchte ich im Folgenden vorstellen.

Weiterlesen ...