Essays by the 20th sōke of the Hōzōinryū

12 essays on spear/Hōzōinryū written by Kagita Chūbee (1957 - 2011), 20th sōke (headmaster) of the Hōzōinryū.

First published in the Nara town magazine Ubusuna, 2009.

Essays by the 20th sōke of the Hōzōinryū

Written by Kagita Chūbee, 20th sōke (headmaster) of the Hōzōinryū

Happy new year.

I feel honoured to have the opportunity to write on the sōjutsu of the Hōzōinryū and would be glad if you would follow me through the 12 episodes that will be published here in the course of this year.

Continue reading ...

Written by Kagita Chūbee, 20th sōke of the Hōzōinryū

The Kōfukuji during the Middle Ages

The Middle Ages in Japan cover the time from the second half of the Heian period1 through the Kamakura period2 and the Nanbokuchō period3 up to the Muromachi period4 and the Sengoku period5 and are characterized by the transition of power from a hereditary monarchie to the warrior class. At the same time the old feudal system which centered around the imperial central government declined due to the rise of true local rulers like the military provincial administrators6 or land stewards7.

Continue reading ...

Written by Kagita Chūbee, 20th sōke of the Hōzōinryū

Kawaji Toshiakira and the Hōzōinryū Sōjutsu

Kawaji Toshiakira (1801 - 1868) was an outstanding character of the late Edo period. He held various important positions in the administration of the shogunate and is especially renowned as the signatory of the Treaty of Shimoda1 and as an advocate of the oppinion that the four southern islands of the Kuril Islands were Japanese territory.

Continue reading ...

Written by Kagita Chūbee, 20th sōke of the Hōzōinryū

Historical traces of the Hōzōinryū

As I already wrote in the previous issue, the Hōzōin was still in existence at the end of the Edo period1 and sōjutsu was still taught there then. But during the anti Buddhist movement at the beginnig of the Meiji period2 its buildings were torn down and its land was expropriated. At that time regrettably its dōjō was lost as well as the archives of its writings. Thus there are only very few historic monuments related to the Hōzōinryū that are left today, which I would like to introduce below.

Continue reading ...

Texte vom 20. Sōke der Hōzōinryū

12 Artikel zum Thema Speer/Hōzōinryū von Kagita Chūbee (1957 - 2011), dem 20. Sōke (Oberhaupt) der Hōzōinryū

Zuerst erschienen im Nara-Stadtmagazin Ubusuna, 2009.

Texte vom 20. Sōke der Hōzōinryū

Von Kagita Chūbee, 20. Sōke (Oberhaupt) der Hōzōinryū

Ich wünsche Ihnen allen ein schönes neues Jahr.

Es ist mir eine Freude, an dieser Stelle über das Sōjutsu der Hōzōinryū schreiben zu können, und ich würde mich sehr freuen, wenn Sie mich über die 12 Folgen, die im Laufe dieses Jahres erscheinen werden, begleiten würden.

Weiterlesen ...

Von Kagita Chūbê, 20. Sōke der Hōzōinryū

Der Kōfukuji im Mittelalter

Das japanische Mittelalter, das die Zeit von der zweiten Hälfte der Heian-Zeit1 über die Kamakura-Zeit2, die Nanbokuchō-Zeit3 bis hinein in die Muromachi-Zeit4 und die Sengoku-Zeit5 umfasst, ist gekennzeichnet durch den Wechsel von einem dynastischen Monarchie hin zur Herrschaft durch den Kriegerstand. Gleichzeitig war diese Zeit durch den Niedergang des alten Lehenssystems, in dessen Zentrum die kaiserliche Zentralregierung stand, geprägt, der durch das Auftauchen tatsächlicher lokaler Machthaber wie den militärischen Provinzverwaltern6 oder den Grundverwaltern7 vorangetrieben wurde.

Weiterlesen ...

Von Kagita Chūbee, 20. Sōke der Hōzōinryū

Kawaji Toshiakira und das Hōzōinryū Sōjutsu

Kawaji Toshiakira (1801 - 1868) war eine herausragende Perönlichkeit der späten Edo-Zeit. Er bekleidete verschiedene wichtige Positionen innerhalb der Shōgunats-Regierung und ist unter anderem dafür bekannt, dass er den Vertrag von Shimoda1 unterzeichnete und ausdrücklich die Ansicht vertrat, dass die vier südlichen Kurilen-Inseln japanisches Territorium seien.

Weiterlesen ...

Von Kagita Chūbee, 20. Sōke der Hōzōinryū

Historische Spuren der Hōzōinryū

Wie ich in der letzten Folge bereits geschrieben habe, existierte der Hōzōin am Ende der Edo-Zeit1 noch, und es wurde dort Sōjutsu unterrichtet. Doch im Laufe der anti-buddhistischen Bewegung zu Beginn der Meiji-Zeit2 wurden seine Gebäude abgerissen und sein Grundbesitz enteignet. Dabei ging sein Dōjō ebenso verloren wie das Archiv seiner Schriften, was überaus bedauerlich ist. Daher gibt es heute nur wenige historische Denkmäler, die mit der Hōzōinryū in Beziehung stehen, und diese möchte ich im Folgenden vorstellen.

Weiterlesen ...