The sickle-spear of the Hōzōinryū (8)

The sickle-spear of the Hōzōinryū (8)

Hozoinryu Takadaha inei Nakamuraha Inshun

Written by Kagita Chūbee, 20th sōke of the Hōzōinryū

The Genealogy of Hōzōinryū Sōjutsu

As I already wrote in the May issue Hōzōinryū Sōjutsu was founded by Inei and subsequently developed into Japan's biggest Sōjutsu school. One reason for this was of course the outstanding quality of the techniques of handling a sickle-spear which Inei had worked up. The other reason was the fact that a lot of excellent disciples gathered in the Hōzōinryū who systematized and developed Inei's techniques further and further from generation to generation until the school had spread all over Japan.

The second headmaster of the school was Zeneibō Inshun. Inshun who was Inei's nephew was born in the year Tenshō 17 (1589). In the year Keichō 7 (1602) he entered the monastary and became a Buddhist monk. At that time Inei was already more than 80 years old. For this reason, so tradition has it, Inshun was instructed in Sōjutsu by an old monk from the Okuzōin, a monastary in the neighborhood of the Hōzōin, who was a direct disciple of Inei. Inshun put the teachings of the school which hadn't been systematized until then in order and established them as the binding style. Beneath Inshun gathered outstanding disciples who incited each other mutually in the pursuit of honing their skills even more. Amongst them were Nakagawa Hannyū, Shibata Kaemon, Takada Matabee, Hasegawa Kuranosuke, Isono Shume and Tanaka Kanbee who were called the six Tengus1.

The third headmaster of the school was Kakushunbō Insei, the fourth Kakuzanbō Inpū, the fifth Jōshikibō Inken and the sixth Kakujōbō Inkai. While thus the Hōzōinryū Sōjutsu was handed down from generation to generation in Nara, members of the school also founded and develeoped their own styles of spear fencing:

The Nakamuraha
Nakamura Ichiemon Naomasa (1577 - 1652) reputedly was Inei's best student, whose disciple he became at the age of 14. In the year Keichō 10 (1605) when he was 29 years old he got his certificate of mastery in the art. Later in his life Naomasa served in the domains of Echizen2 and Fukui where his style was handed down for generations.

The Takadaha
Takada Matabee Yoshitsugu (1589 - 1671) was the founder of the style of Hōzōinryū Takadaha Sōjutsu that we train today. He was born as the first son of the rural samurai Takada Kiemon who was in charge of the village Shirakashi in the Ahai district of the the province of Iga. In the year Keichō 8 (1603) when he was 14 years old he became the disciple of Nakamura Ichiemon Naomasa who granted him the Rokujūsankajō-no-mokuroku3 in the year Keichō 20 (1615). When in the 10th month of the year Kanei 14 (1637) the Shimabara Rebellion broke out he followed the invitation of Ogasawara Tadazane4 and went to Kokura5. In the second month of the following year he leaded a troop of spearmen and took the main tower during the attack on Hara castle. For this he was rewarded with a stipend of 700 Koku6. On the 11th day of the fourth month of the year Keian 4 (1651) accompanied ba his eldest Son Itsuki and his disciple Wakōji Shichibee he visited the Shōgun Iemitsu7 who was suffering from illness to entertain him with a demonstration of his skills. The Shōgung is said to have said at that time: "When you perform, Matabee, your voice resonates through the palace like thunder. Everyone present is impressed by your tremendous skills. And I, Iemitsu, forget about my illness." Nine days later on the 20th day of the fourth month8 the Shōgun Iemitsu passed away. Matabee had four sons. His third son, Yoshimichi, and his fourth son, Yoshimasa, stayed in Kokura. Yoshimichi became his father's successor and changed his name to Matabee. On the 23rd day of the first month of the year Kanbun 11 (1671) Yoshitsugu Sōhaku9 died at the age of 82. Beneath Yoshitsugu10 gathered brilliant disciples like Kuze Yamato no Kami Hiroyuki11, Mori Heizō Kiyomasatsuna, Kawabe Yaemon Moritsura or Fuwa Keiga, whose activities layed the foundation on which the Hōzōinryu starting from Edo spread widely over all the domains in Japan.

Beside these two branches of the style and the main school in Nara there were other branches like the Isonoha or the Oroshiha which spread nationwide and local styles like the Anekawaryū, the Uedaryū, the Aizuhan Takadaha, the Chiiryū, the Inshinryū, the Owariha, the Inōha, the Shinodaha or the Yoshidaha.

(First published in the Nara town magazine Ubusuna on August 5th 2009)

Remarks:
1. Mythological creatures that are half human half bird and reputedly masters of the martial arts.
2. The northern part of todays Fukui prefecture.
3. Literally: list of the traditional 63 (techniques). In other words: his diploma of mastery in the art.
4. 1596 - 1667, at that time lord of Kokura.
5. Today part of the city Kitakyūshū in the Fukuoka prefecture on Kyūshū.
6. 1 Koku = 180,39 liters of rice was set as the amount of rice a grown up person consumes in a year. The monatary value corresponds to 1 Ryō = approximately 37,5 g of gold.
7. 1623 - 1651, the third Tokugawa Shōgun.
8. June 8th, as always all the dates in the text are moon-calendrical.
9. Sōhaku presumably was Takada Matabee Yoshitsugu's Buddhist name.
10. Yoshitsugu senior.
11. 1609 - 1679, first lord of Sekiyado.

Next Post Previous Post

Der Sichelspeer der Hōzōinryū (8)

Der Sichelspeer der Hōzōinryū (8)

Hozoinryu Takadaha inei Nakamuraha Inshun

Von Kagita Chūbee, 20. Sōke der Hōzōinryū

Die Genealogie des Hōzōinryū Sōjutsus

In der Mai-Folge habe ich ja bereits darüber geschrieben, dass das Hōzōinryū Sōjutsu von Inei begründet worden war und sich zur größten Sōjutsu-Schule Japans entwickelte. Das lag natürlich zum einen daran, dass die vom Gründer Inei entwickelten Techniken der Handhabung des Sichelspeers herausragend waren, zum anderen aber auch daran, dass viele hervorragende Schüler in der Hōzōinryū zusammenkamen und die Techniken Ineis von Generation zu Generation immer weiter systematisierten und entwickelten, bis die Schule schließlich über ganz Japan verbreitet war.

Das zweite Oberhaupt der Schule wurde Zeneibō Inshun. Inshun, der ein Neffe Ineis war, wurde im Jahre Tenshō 17 (1589) geboren. Im Jahre Keichō 7 (1602) trat er im Alter von 14 Jahren in den Hōzōin ein und wurde buddhistischer Mönch. Zu diesem Zeitpunkt war Inei bereits über 80 Jahre alt. Deshalb, so will es die Überlieferung, wurde Inshun von einem alten Mönch des dem Hōzōin benachbarten Klosters Okuzōin, der ein direkter Schüler Ineis war, im Sōjutsu unterwiesen. Inshun ordnete die bis dahin nicht systematisierten Unterrichtsmethoden der Schule und schrieb sie als den verbindlichen Stil fest. Unter Inshun versammelten sich herausragende Schüler, die sich gegenseitig zu einer immer weiteren Verbesserung ihrer Technik anstachelten. Darunter wurden Nakagawa Hannyū, Shibata Kaemon, Takada Matabee, Hasegawa Kuranosuke, Isono Shume und Tanaka Kanbee als die sechs Tengus1 bezeichnet.

Das dritte Oberhaupt der Schule war Kakushunbō Insei, das vierte Kakuzanbō Inpū, Jōshikibō Inken das fünfte und das sechste Kakujōbō Inkai. Aus dem so in Nara fortgeführten Hōzōinryū Sōjutsu wurden von Mitgliedern der Schule zahlreiche eigene Stilrichtungen begründet und weiterentwickelt:

Die Nakamuraha
Nakamura Ichiemon Naomasa (1577 - 1652) galt als bester Schüler des Stilbegründers Inei, dessen Schüler er im Alter von 14 Jahren wurde. Im Jahre Keichō 10 (1605) erhielt er im Alter von 29 Jahren das Zeugnis seiner Meisterschaft in der Kunst. Später diente Naomasa in den Fürstentümern Echizen2 und Fukui, wo sein Stil über Generationen überliefert wurde.

Die Takadaha
Takada Matabee Yoshitsugu (1589 - 1671) war der Begründer des Hōzōinryū Takadaha Sōjutsus, das wir heute üben. Er wurde als erster Sohn des Landsamurais Takada Kiemon geboren, der das Dorf Shirakashi im Bezirk Ahai in der Provinz Iga verwaltete. Mit 14 Jahren wurde er im Jahre Keichō 8 (1603) Schüler Nakamura Ichiemon Naomasas, von dem er im Jahre Keichō 20 (1615) das Rokujūsankajō-no-mokuroku3 erhielt. Als im 10. Monat des Jahres Kanei 14 (1637) der Shimabara-Aufstand ausbrach, begab er sich auf Einladung Ogasawara Tadazanes4 nach Kokura5. Im zweiten Monat des folgenden Jahres nahm er als Anführer einer Speertruppe beim Angriff auf die Burg Hara deren Hauptturm ein. Für diesen Erfolg wurde er mit einem Stipendium in Höhe von 700 Koku6 belohnt. Am 11. Tag des vierten Monats des Jahres Keian 4 (1651) besuchte er zusammen mit seinem ältesten Sohn Itsuki und seinem Schüler Wakōji Shichibee den krank daniederliegenden Shōgun Iemitsu7, um ihn mit einer Demonstration seines Könnens zu zerstreuen. Der Shōgun soll damals gesagt haben: "Wenn Ihr vorführt, Matabee, erschüttert Eure Stimme den Palast wie Donnergrollen. Alle Anwesenden sind ergriffen von Eurer erlesenen Behändigkeit. Und ich, Iemitsu, vergesse, dass ich krank bin." Neun Tage später, am 20. Tag des vierten Monats8 verschied der Shōgun Iemitsu. Matabee hatte vier Söhne. Sein dritter Sohn, Yoshimichi, und sein vierter Sohn, Yoshimasa, blieben in Kokura. Yoshimichi trat die Nachfolge seines Vaters an und benannte sich in Matabee um. Am 23. Tag des ersten Monats des Jahres Kanbun 11 (1671) starb Yoshitsugu Sōhaku9 im Alter von 82 Jahren. Er wurde im Tempel Hōkōji in Kokura beigesetzt. Unter Yoshitsugu10 scharten sich brillante Schüler wie u.a. Kuze Yamato no Kami Hiroyuki11, Mori Heizō Kiyomasatsuna, Kawabe Yaemon Moritsura und Fuwa Keiga, deren Wirken die Grundlage dafür schuf, dass sich die Hōzōinryū mit Edo begonnen weit über alle Fürstentümer Japans verbreitete.

Neben diesen beiden Ablegern der Schule und der Mutterschule verbreiteten sich landesweit noch Zweigstile wie die Isonoha oder die Oroshiha oder lokal die Anekawaryū, die Uedaryū, die Aizuhan Takadaha, die Chiiryū, die Inshinryū, die Owariha, die Inōha, die Shinodaha oder die Yoshidaha.

(Zuerst erschienen im Nara-Stadtmagazin Ubusuna am 05.08.2009)

Anmerkungen:
1. Tengu sind mythologische Fabelwesen, halb Mensch. halb Vogel, denen größte Expertise in den Kampfkünsten nachgesagt wird.
2. Heute der Norden der Präfektur Fukui.
3. Wörtlich: Liste der überlieferten 63 (Techniken), gemeint ist sein "Meisterbrief".
4. 1596 - 1667, damals Fürst von Kokura.
5. Heute Teil der Stadt Kitakyūshū in der Präfektur Fukuoka auf Kyūshū.
6. 1 Koku = 180,39 Liter Reis war als die Menge trockener Reiskörner festgelegt, die ein Erwachsener im Jahr verzehrt. Der Geldwert entsprach etwa 1 Ryō = ca. 37,5 g Gold.
7. 1623 - 1651; der dritte Tokugawa-Shōgun.
8. Juni nach westlicher Zeitrechnung; wie immer sind hier alle historischen Daten nach dem Mondkalender.
9. Sōhaku ist wahrscheinlich Takada Matabee Yoshitsugus buddhistischer Name.
10. Dem Vater.
11. 1609 - 1679; erster Fürst von Sekiyado.

Nächster Beitrag Vorheriger Beitrag