The sickle-spear of the Hōzōinryū (3)

The sickle-spear of the Hōzōinryū (3)

kamayari suyari kudayari kagiyari

Written by Kagita Chūbee, 20th sōke of the Hōzōinryū

Types of Spears

This time I would like to introduce the various types of spears.

Suyari Suyari:
This is the most common type of spear. As its name "simple spear" implies this is a spear with a straight blade. In ancient times this denomination was not used because then this was the only type of spear there was. The term suyari first came to be used during the Sengoku period1 when different types of spears as the kamayari or the kagiyari evolved.

Kamayari:
Techigai-Jūmonjiyari The blade of a "sickle-spear" has one or two "sickels" (additional blades) going off the main blade. Due to these additional blades the kamayari has an advantage over the suyari because with this kind of blade it is possible to cut with a draw, deflect an attack or beat down an opponents weapon in a circular movement. Concerning form, length or angle of the additional blades there had been the most different developments. At the end of the Sengoku period the kamayari came into the spotlight as the personal weapon of choise of the great generals. Katō Kiyomasa's2 katakamayari, Katagiri Katsumoto's3 techigai-jūmonjiyari4 oder Mori Nagayoshi's5 big jūmonjiyari are still spoken of even today. At the same time the use of the kamayari developed into a martial art. At first there were no independent styles but in the Momoyama period6 Hōzōin Inei's7 art of the use of the jūmonjikamayari established itself as an outstanding school which was then refinded increasingly by his able successors. Usually the shafts of kamayaris are shorter than those of suyaris. One reason for this is the fact that their blades are heavier than those of suyaris. The more important reason though is that - making good use of the sickles - it is more easy to get to the opponent or apply techniques like hikitotoshi8 oder makiotoshi9 with a slightly shorter kamayari.

Jūmonjiyari Jūmonjiyari:
The "cross-spear" is a subtype of kamayari. The additional blades on both sides of the main blade are of equal length. This spear ows its name to its cross shaped blade. This is the type of spear we use in the Hōzōinryū. With this kind of spear not only thrusting is possible but one can use it to cut down an opponents spear, to fling it down in a circular movement or to slide towards the opponents leading hand along the shaft of his spear.

Katakamayari:
The "one-sided sickle-spear" also is a subtype of kamayari. Its blade resembles that of a jūmonjiyari with one of the additional blades missing10.

Kagiyari Kagiyari:
The "key-spear" has a crossguard below its blade which can be used to controll an opponents weapon or to fling it down. It ows its name to the fact that the crossguard usually is L-shaped.

Kudayari Kudayari:
The "tube-spear" is a suyari the shaft of which is running through a loosly fitting sleeve of a hand breadth's length. This sleeve or tube is held with the left hand. The right hand grips the shaft directly thrusts the spear forwards and pulling it backwards through the sleeve. This is done effortlessly because the sleeve offers only minimal frictional resistance. Something resembling the kudayari is neither found in China nor in the West. So it is justified to call it an original Japanese invention.

Ōmiyari:
The term "spear with a large blade" is used for spears with a long blade. This applies to suyaris as well as to kamayaris11. Usually a blade length between approximately 12 and 21 cm are sufficient for effective thrusting. Nevertheless there are spears with a blade length of one or two shaku, in rare cases even more than four shaku (approx. 30 - 120 cm). These spears are called ōmiyari.

Nagaeyari:
"Long shafted spears" literally have long shafts. The term is not used for spears that are only long but for those extraordinarily long weapons which were issued to the infantry and used in group fighting. These spears not only were much longer than average but they were issued by the feudal lords to their spear troops as identical weapons, used coordinated in the group on command. Nagaeyari reached from approximately 4,50 m up to 6,40 m. In the peaceful Edo period12 they were still used as ceremonial weapons. It must have been an impressive sight when long rows of such spears passed by13.

(First published in the Nara town magazine Ubusuna on March 5th 2009)

Remarks:
1. 1467 – 1568
2. 1562 - 1611; lord of Higo and one of the "seven spears of Shizugatake" (also see episode 2); Katō Kiyomasa also was a renowned architect of castles and fortifications.
3. 1556 - 1615; another of the "seven spears of Shizugatake".
4. Literally: incorrect jūmonjiyari. The additional blades of this kind of Spear do not lie in the same plane as the main blade but are attached to it shifted by 90 degrees.
5. 1558 – 1584
6. 1583 – 1602
7. 1521 - 1607
8. Cutting down.
9. Flinging down in a circular movement.
10. Or with one of the blades very short or just suggested.
11. Of course kagiyaris can be ōmiyaris as well. The kagiyari used in the Saburiryū for example is an ōmi-kagiyari.
12. 1603 - 1868
13. For example in daimyō processions.

Next Post Previous Post

Der Sichelspeer der Hōzōinryū (3)

Der Sichelspeer der Hōzōinryū (3)

kamayari suyari kudayari kagiyari

Von Kagita Chūbee, 20. Sōke der Hōzōinryū

Speertypen

Diesmal möchte ich die verschiedenen Arten von Speeren vorstellen.

Suyari Suyari:
Dies ist der am häufigsten vorkommende Speertyp. Wie der Name "einfacher Speer" schon sagt, handelt es sich hierbei um einen Speer mit einer geraden Klinge. Da es in alten Zeiten nur diesen Speertyp gab, gab es damals diese Bezeichnung auch nicht. Der Name Suyari bürgerte sich erst in der Sengoku-Zeit1 ein, als andere Speertypen wie Kamayari oder Kagiyari auftauchten.

Kamayari:
Techigai-Jūmonjiyari Beim "Sichelspeer" gehen von der Hauptklinge eine oder zwei "Sicheln" (Seiten- bzw. Beiklingen) ab. Durch die Beiklingen ist dieser Speertyp dem Suyari gegenüber im Vorteil, denn man mit dieser Klinge unter anderem ziehend schneiden, Angriffe abwehren oder einen gegnerischen Speer rotierend zu Boden schlagen. Hinsichtlich der Form, der Länge oder des Winkels dieser Beiklingen gab es die unterschiedlichsten Entwicklungen. Gegen Ende der Sengoku-Zeit rückte der Kamayari als persönliche Bewaffnung der großen Feldherren ins Rampenlicht. Von Katō Kiyomasas2 Katakamayari, Katagiri Katsumotos3 Techigai-Jūmonjiyari4 oder Mori Nagayoshis5 großem Jūmonjiyari wird noch heute geredet. Zu dieser Zeit entwickelte sich auch der Gebrauch von Kamayaris zu einer Kriegskunst. Anfangs konnte vielleicht nicht die Rede von unabhängigen Stilen gewesen sein, doch in der Momoyama-Zeit6 formierte sich dann Hōzōin Ineis7 Kunst des Gebrauchs des Jūmonjikamayaris zu einer herausragenden eigenständigen Schule, die durch seine fähigen Nachfolger immer weiter verfeinert wurde. Für gewöhnlich sind die Schäfte von Kamayaris kürzer als die von Suyaris. Das liegt zum einen daran, dass Ihre Klingen schwerer sind als die von Suyaris. Der wichtigere Grund ist allerdings, dass es unter Ausnutzung der Sicheln einfacher ist, an seinen Gegner heranzukommen oder Techniken wie Hikitotoshi8 oder Makiotoshi9 auszuüben, wenn der Kamayari etwas kürzer ist.

Jūmonjiyari Jūmonjiyari:
Der "Kreuzspeer" ist eine Unterart des Kamayaris. Die Sicheln auf beiden Seiten seiner Klinge sind gleich lang. Seinen Namen verdankt er dem Umstand, dass seine Klinge eben kreuzförmig ist. Der Speer, den wir in der Hōzōinryū einsetzen, ist ebendieser. Man kann mit ihm nicht nur stechen, sondern ihn vielfältig gebrauchen. So kann man mit ihm beispielsweise einen gegnerischen Speer schneidend heruterschlagen, rotierend herunterschlagen oder mit einer der Sicheln am gegnerischen Speerschaft entlang zur Führhand des Gegners rutschen.

Katakamayari:
Auch beim "einseitigen Sichelspeer" handelt es sich um eine Unterart des Kamayaris. Seine Klinge gleicht der eines Jūmonjiyaris, der eine Beiklinge fehlt10.

Kagiyari Kagiyari:
Beim "Schlüsselspeer" handelt es sich um einen Speer an dessen Schaft eine Parierstange angebracht ist, mit der sich die gegnerische Waffe kontrollieren oder zu Boden schleudern lässt. Seinen Namen verdankt dieser Speertyp dem Umstand, dass die Parierstange meistens L-förmig ist.

Kudayari Kudayari:
Der "Röhrenspeer" ist ein Suyari, dessen Schaft durch eine locker sitzende Hülse, die etwa eine Handbreit lang ist, geführt wird. Diese Hülse wird mit der linken Hand gegriffen, wohingegen die rechte Hand den Speerschaft fasst und den Speer durch die Hülse nach vorne sticht und nach hinten zieht, was sehr leicht geht, da die Hülse nur wenig Reibungswiderstand bietet. So etwas wie den Kudayari findet man weder in China noch im Westen, weshalb man bei ihm von einer original japanischen Erfindung sprechen kann.

Ōmiyari:
Als "Speer mit großer Klinge" werden Speere bezeichnet, die eine lange Klinge haben. Dabei kann es sich sowohl um Suyaris als auch um Kamayaris handeln11. Normalerweise reicht es, wenn Speerklingen zwischen etwa 12 und 21 cm lang sind, um effektiv mit ihnen stechen zu können. Dennoch gibt es Speere, deren Klingen eine Länge von ein oder zwei Shaku, in seltenen Fällen sogar bis über vier Shaku (ca. 30 - 120 cm) haben. Diese Speere bezeichnet man als Ōmiyari.

Nagaeyari:
"Langschäftige Speere" sind, wie ihr Name schon sagt, Speere, die einen langen Schaft haben. Gemeint sind damit aber keine Speere, die einfach nur lang sind , sondern die extrem langen Speere, mit denen die Infanterie ausgerüstet wurde, um damit in Gruppen zu kämpfen. Zum einen waren diese Speere überdurchschnittlich lang, zum anderen handelete es sich bei ihnen um identische Waffen, die vom Lehnsherren an die Speertruppen ausgegeben wurden und die in der Gruppe auf Befehl koordiniert eingesetzt wurden. Nagaeyaris gab es in Längen von etwa 4,50 m bis 6,40 m. Ihr Einsatz in Kriegszeiten war extrem effektiv. Als mit der Edo-Zeit12 wieder Frieden einkehrte, wurden diese Speere weiterhin als zeremonielle Waffen benutzt. Es muss ein beeindruckender Anblick gewesen sein, wenn lange Reihen solcher Speere vorbeizogen13.

(Zuerst erschienen im Nara-Stadtmagazin Ubusuna am 05.03.2009)

Anmerkungen:
1. 1467 – 1568
2. 1562 - 1611; Fürst von Higo und einer der "sieben Speere von Shizugatake" (siehe Folge 2); Katō Kiyomasa war auch als Architekt von Burgen und Befestigungsanlagen sehr berühmt.
3. 1556 - 1615; ebenfalls einer der "sieben Speere von Shizugatake".
4. Wörtlich: falscher bzw. falsch gemachter Jūmonjiyari. Bei diesem Typ des Jūmonjiyaris liegen die Beiklingen nicht in derselben Ebene wie die Hauptklinge, sondern stehen im rechten Winkel zu deren Fläche.
5. 1558 – 1584
6. 1583 – 1602
7. 1521 - 1607
8. Schneidendes Herunterschlagen.
9. Rotierendes Herunterschlagen.
10. Oder deren eine Beiklinge extrem kurz bzw. nur angedeutet ist.
11. Natürlich können auch Kagiyaris Ōmiyaris sein, wie z.B, der Ōmi-Kagiyari, der in der Saburiryū eingesetzt wird.
12. 1603 - 1868
13. Beispielsweise bei Daimyō-Prozessionen.

Nächster Beitrag Vorheriger Beitrag