The sickle-spear of the Hōzōinryū (9)

The sickle-spear of the Hōzōinryū (9)

Hozoinryu Kagita inei Ishida Nishikawa

Written by Kagita Chūbee, 20th sōke of the Hōzōinryū

The Return of the Hōzōinryū Sōjutsu to Nara

There is a mysterious relationship between the Hōzōinryū Sōjutsu and the family Kagita. In the year Shōwa 33 (1958) my late father Chūzaburō constructed the first toll highway in Japan which lead through the Kōenzan, a mountain in the west of Nara. One feeding road to this highway was built next to the cemetary of the temple Byakugōji. On this occasion my father discovered the tombs of Hōzōin Kakuzenbō Inei an his successors. This was the beginning of the previously mentioned relationship.

From that point on my father watched over the tombs and paid them his respect. One night a monk clad in violet appeared in my father's dreams, communicating something urgently but wordless. My father, who had been paralyzed by this apparition, suddenly jumped up, letting out a loud cry, "eyh!" and opened his eyes. On the same day he visited Inei's grave. Rain seemed imminent when he said his prayers in the dark. Then suddenly the same monk reappeared and my father knew that he must be Hōzōin Inei. My father wondered whether the monk in his dream hadn't put a task on him.

The Nara Central Dōjō for Martial Arts.
The Nara Central Dōjō for Martial Arts.
In Shōwa 48 (1973) when my father was mayor of Nara an spilled his heartblood to develop the city he built the Nara Central Dōjō for Martial Arts1 which, at a size of 400 jō2, was the largest municipal dōjō in Japan at that time. During the construction he invited Ishida Kazuto3, president of the All Japan Kendō Federation (and former president of the Supreme Court) to have a look at the dōjō. When my father explained to him that the the dōjō was sized so that even sōjutsu training was possible, Ishida Kazuto seemed to be interested. So my father took him to the grave of Hōzōin Inei. Afert they'd recited the Hannya Shingyō4 Ishida Kazuto humbly said: "Actually I know a little about the forms of the Hōzōinryū Takadaha Sōjutsu." To my father's surprise it turned out that Ishida Kazuto was the current headmaster of the Hōzōinryū Sōjutsu. My father asked him to give a spear demonstration at the official opening of Nara Central Dōjō for Martial Arts on September 28th in the year Shōwa 49 (1974). On that day Ishida Kazuto performed the forms of the Hōzōinryū Takadaha Sōjutsu together with Sakanishi Tarō and Yamazaki Suguru.

Ishida Kazuto and Nishikawa Gennai (front) in July 1976 at the Nara Central Dōjō for Martial Arts.
Ishida Kazuto and Nishikawa Gennai.
Deeply impressed by this fantastic demonstration my father beseeched Ishida Kazuto to let the Hōzōinryū Sōjutsu return to its hometown Nara and to teach it there. Ishida Kazuto understood my father's enthusiasm and gladly met his request. Not only did he teach swordsmen from Nara in Tōkyō but often he himself came to Nara where we absorbed his teachings ardently. Finally the headmastership was transferred from the 18th Sōke of the Hōzōinryū Takadaha Sōjutsu to Nishikawa Gennai, Kendō 8th dan Hanshi5, in a ceremony at the Nara Central Dōjō for Martial Arts in February of the year Shōwa 51 (1976). Thus the Hōzōinryū Sōjutsu, which had completely disappeared from Nara due to the anti-Buddhistic movement during the Meiji period6, awoke to new life in its birthplace and grew roots there once again. Thus it happened that we could take up spear training there.

In May of Shōwa 54 (1979) Ishida Kazuto unexpectedly passed away. If he hadn't come to Nara and if my father hadn't visited Inei's Grave with him at that time, the Hōzōinryū Sōjutsu probably would have disappeard with him for all time. Bearing this in mind I am even more grateful for our historic good fortune.

Since (the return of the school to Nara) we trained zealously (in Hōzōinryū Sōjutsu) until in June of the year Heisei 3 (1991) I was appointed his successor and 20th Sōke by Nishikawa Gennai, a position I am stll holding today.

(First published in the Nara town magazine Ubusuna on September 5th 2009)

Remarks:
Nara-shi chūō budōjō
1. 1 jō equals the space taken by 1 tatami mat, which is 182 cm by 91 cm. So 400 jō equal to 662,5 m2. This is the trainig space only!
2. 1903 - 1979. Ishida Kazuto was the 5th headmaster of the sword style Ittō Shōden Mutōryū as well.
3. The Heart Sutra.
4. Hanshi, master, ist the highest modern teaching rank in disciplines like Kendō, Iaidō, or Kyūdō.
5. 1868 - 1912

Next Post Previous Post

Der Sichelspeer der Hōzōinryū (9)

Der Sichelspeer der Hōzōinryū (9)

Hozoinryu Kagita inei Ishida Nishikawa

Von Kagita Chūbee, 20. Sōke der Hōzōinryū

Die Rückkehr des Hōzōinryū Sōjutsus nach Nara

Zwischen dem Hōzōinryū Sōjutsu und der Familie Kagita gibt es eine mysteriöse Verbindung. Im Jahre Shōwa 33 (1958) richtete mein verstorbener Vater Chūzaburō die erste gebührenpflichtige Schnellstraße Japans über den Kōenzan, einen Berg im Osten Naras, ein. Als Zubringer wurde neben dem Friedhof des Tempels Byakugōji eine neue Straße angelegt. Dabei entdeckte er neben der Straße die Gräber Hōzōin Kakuzenbō Ineis und seiner Nachfolger. Das war der Beginn dieser Beziehung.

Von da an wachte mein Vater über diese Gräber und erwies ihnen seinen Respekt. Eines Nachts erschien meinem Vater im Traum ein in ein violettes Gewand gehüllter Mönch, der ihm wortlos aber sehr intensiv etwas mitteilte. Mein Vater, der sich wie gelähmt nicht hatte bewegen können, sprang mit einem lauten Schrei, "Eyh!", auf und öffnete die Augen. An jenem Tag besuchte mein Vater Ineis Grab. Es sah so aus, als würde es gleich anfangen zu regnen, als er im Dunklen vor dem Grab betete. Da erschien ihm dieser Mönch wieder, und mein Vater wusste, dass es sich bei ihn nur um Hōzōin Inei handeln konnte. Mein Vater fragte sich, ob Inei ihm nicht im Traum erschienen war, um ihm eine Aufgabe anzuvertrauen.

Das Zentrale Dōjō für Kampfkünste der Stadt Nara.
Das Zentrale Dōjō für Kampfkünste der Stadt Nara.
Im Jahre Shōwa 48 (1973), mein Vater arbeitete damals als Bürgermeister von Nara mit ganzem Herzen an der Entwicklung der Stadt, erbaute er das Zentrale Dōjō für Kampfkünste der Stadt Nara1, das damals mit einer Größe von 400 Jō2 das größte kommunale Dōjō in ganz Japan war. Während der Bauerbeiten lud er Ishida Kazuto3, den Vorsitzenden des Alljapanischen Kendō-Bunds (und ehemaligen Präsidenten des Obersten Gerichtshofes), ein, das Dōjō zu besichtigen. Weil dieser sich sehr interessiert zeigte, als mein Vater ihm erklärte, dass das Dōjō in so großzügigen Dimensionen angelegt sei, um dort auch das Training von Sōjutsu zu ermöglichen, besuchte mein Vater zusammen mit ihm das Grab Hōzōin Ineis. Nachdem sie dort das Hannya-shingyō4 rezitiert hatten, sagte Ishida Kazuto bescheiden: "Ehrlich gesagt kann ich die die Katas des Hōzōinryū Takadaha Sōjutsus ein wenig." So stellte sich zur Überraschung meines Vaters heraus, dass eben dieser Ishida Kazuto das aktuelle Oberhaupt des Hōzōinryū Sōjutsus war. Mein Vater bat ihn darum, anlässlich der Einweihungsfeier des Zentralen Dōjōs für Kampfkünste der Stadt Nara am 28. September des Jahres Shōwa 49 (1974) eine Speer-Demonstration zu geben, und so führte Ishida Kazuto dort zusammen mit Sakanishi Tarō und Yamazaki Suguru die Formen des Hōzōinryū Takadaha Sōjutsus vor.

Ishida Kazuto und Nishikawa Gennai (vorne) im Juli 1976 im Zentralen Dōjō für Kampfkünste der Stadt Nara
Ishida Kazuto und Nishikawa Gennai.
Tief beeindruckt von dieser fantastischen Speer-Vorführung, flehte mein Vater Ishida Kazuto an, diese Speer-Kunst zurück nach Hause kommen zu lassen und sie in Nara zu unterrichten. Ishida Kazuto verstand die Begeisterung meines Vaters und kam seiner Bitte gerne nach. Er unterichtete Schwertkämpfer aus Nara nicht nur in Tōkyō, sondern kam selber häufig nach Nara, wo wir seine Lehren im Sōjutsu eifrig aufnahmen. Schließlich wurde im Februar des Jahres Shōwa 51 (1976) im Zentralen Dōjō für Kampfkünste der Stadt Nara die Großmeisterschaft vom 18. Sōke des Hōzōinryū Takadaha Sōjutsus an Nishikawa Gennai, Kendō 8. Dan Hanshi5, zeremoniell übergeben. So erwachte das Hōzōinryū Sōjutsu, das durch die anti-buddhistische Bewegung in der Meiji-Zeit6 vollständig aus Nara verschwunden war, nach einem Jahrhundert dort wieder zu neuem Leben und schlug neue Wurzeln an seinem Entstehungsort. Und so konnten wir dort das Speer-Training aufnehmen.

Im Mai des Jahres Shōwa 54 (1979) verstarb Ishida Kazuto leider plötzlich. Wenn er damals nicht nach Nara gekommen wäre, wenn mein Vater nicht mit ihm zu Ineis Grab gegangen wäre, wäre das Hōzōinryū Sōjutsu mit ihm wohl ein für alle Mal vom Erdboden verschwunden. Der Gedanke daran macht mich um so dankbarer für dieses historische Glück.

Seit (der Rückkehr der Schule nach Nara) übten wir uns dort mit großem Eifer (im Hōzōinryū Sōjutsu), bis ich schließlich im Juni des Jahres Heisei 3 (1991) von Nishikawa Gennai als 20. Sōke zu seinem Nachfolger berufen wurde. Dieses Amt bekleide ich bis heute.

(Zuerst erschienen im Nara-Stadtmagazin Ubusuna am 05.09.2009)

Anmerkungen:
1. Nara-shi chūō budōjō
2. 1 Jō ist die Fläche einer Tatami-Matte, 182 cm X 91 cm, 400 Jō entsprechen also 662,5 m2. Dies ist nicht die Grundfläche des Gebäudes, sondern die Trainingsfläche!
3. 1903 - 1979, nebenbei auch noch 5. Sōke des Kenjutsu-Stils Ittō Shōden Mutōryū.
4. Das Herz-Sutra.
5. Hanshi, Meister, ist der höchste moderne Lehrerrang im Disziplinen wie Kendō, Iaidō oder Kyūdō.
6. 1868 - 1912

Nächster Beitrag Vorheriger Beitrag